Assistant Professor Department of Statistics and Data Science

Yifang Ma, Ph.D., is an Assistant Professor at Department of Statistics and Data Science of Southern University of Science and Technology (SUSTech). He earned his Ph.D in mathematics in 2016 from School of Mathematical Sciences, Peking University. He was a postdoctoral research fellow at the Northwestern Institute on Complex Systems (NICO) and Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University from 2016 to 2019. His research focus is on Network Science, Data Science and Computational Social Science, and he has published papers in top tier journals like Nature, PNAS, Nature Physics, The Journal of the American Medical Association,

Personal Profile

Professional Experience:

2019.11-present        Assistant Professor

 Department of Statistics and Data Science, Southern University of Science and Technology

2016.7-2019.09          Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA

 

Education:

2011.09-2016.07        Ph.D. in Mathematics

School of Mathematical Sciences, Peking University, Beijing, China

2007.9-2011.7            Bachelor in Applied Mathematics

School of Mathematics and Systems Science, Beihang University, Beijing, China

2014.10-2016.06        Visiting Scholar

Center for Complex Network Research, Northeastern University, Boston, MA, USA

Research

Computational Social Science

Network Science

Data Science

Science of Science


Publications Read More

1. Yifang Ma, Diego F.M. Oliveira, Teresa K. Woodruff and Brian Uzzi, Women who win prizes get less money and prestige. Nature, 565, 287-288 (2019)

2. Diego F.M. Oliveira, Yifang Ma, Teresa K. Woodruff and Brian Uzzi, Comparison of National Institutes of Health Grant Amounts to First-Time Male and Female Principal Investigators. The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA), 321(9):898-900 (2019).

3. Michael Szell, Yifang Ma, Roberta Sinatra, A Nobel opportunity for interdisciplinarity. Nature Physics 14.11 (2018): 1075-1078

4. Yifang Ma and Brian Uzzi, Scientific prize network predicts who pushes the boundaries of science. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America (PNAS), 115.50 (2018): 12608-12615.

5. Lauren M Ataman, Yifang Ma, Francesca E Duncan, Brian Uzzi, Teresa K Woodruff, Quantifying the growth of oncofertility, Biology of Reproduction, 2018, 99(2), 263–265.

6. Quantong Guo, Yanjun Lei, Xin Jiang, Yifang Ma, Guanying Huo, Zhiming Zheng, Epidemic spreading with activity-driven awareness diffusion on multiplex network, Chaos, 2016, 26(4): 043110.

7. Yanjun Lei, Xin Jiang, Quantong Guo, Yifang Ma, Meng Li, Zhiming Zheng, Contagion processes on the static and activity driven coupling networks, Physical Review E, 2016, 93(3): 032308.

8. Yifang Ma, Xin Jiang, Meng Li and Zhiming Zheng, Trapping on deterministic multiplex networks. Acta Physica Polonica B, 46 (2015) 789-800.

9. Quantong Guo, Xin Jiang, Yanjun Lei, Meng Li, Yifang Ma and Zhiming Zheng, Two-stage effects of awareness cascade on epidemic spreading in multiplex networks, Physical Review E, 91 (2015) 012822.

10. Yifang Ma, Xin Jiang, Meng Li and Zhiming Zheng, Characterizing the efficiency and catalytic effects of modular structures in information propagation. Europhysics Letters, 108 (2014) 48004.

11. Yifang Ma, Xin Jiang, Meng Li, Xin Shen, Quantong Guo, Yanjun Lei and Zhiming Zheng, Identify the diversity of mesoscopic structures in networks: A mixed random walk approach. Europhysics Letters, 104 (2013) 18006.

12. Meng Li, Xin Jiang, Yifang Ma, Xin Shen and Zhiming Zheng, Effect of mixing parts of modular networks on explosive synchronization. Europhysics Letters, 104 (2013) 58002.

News More

  • 统计与数据科学系本科生导师见面会成功举行

    2019-09-13
  • SUSTech Launches New Dept of Statistics and Data Science

    2019-08-21

Lab members Read More

Join us

 

The Department of Statistics and Data Science was established in April 2019. As a newly established department, we currently have 8 faculty members including 1 Chair Professor, 2 Professors, 2 Associate Professors , 2 Tenure-track Assistant Professors and 1 Visiting Assistant Professor and anticipant to rapidly expand to a team of more than 20 members. All faculty members of the department have extensive overseas study or work experiences. One member is an invited speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians, an IMS Medallion Lecturer and a winner of the prestigious State Natural Science Award (2nd class). The department has 2 research directions, Statistics and Data Science, which cover a broad array of research areas including Biostatistics, Financial Statistics, Experiment Design, Clinical Trials, High Dimensional Data, Time series, Probability Theory, Data Science and Big Data Technology.

 

At present, the department has an undergraduate program as well as two graduate programs(M.Phil and PhD). The department is in the process of developing a Major Program in Data Science and Big Data Technology. In 2019, the first batch of 38 undergraduate students in Statistics received the bachelor degree from SUSTech. 5 M.Phil students in Statistics also graduated in the same year. There are currently 9 M.Phil students, 7 PhD students in Statistics and 2 Postdoctoral Fellows. As the department grows in size and strength, the number of graduate students is expected to rise substantially from the current level and the areas of graduate studies will also expand to include Data Science and Big Data Technology.

 

This is the age of big data which offers exciting opportunities to researchers in Statistics and Data Science. Our department is expected to grow rapidly in the coming years. We invite outstanding scholars to join us in our journey to become a first-class department in Statistics and Data Science. We also welcome brilliant undergraduate and graduate students to apply for our programs. At the same time, we actively recruit excellent postdoctoral candidates.

Read More

Contact Us

Contact Address

Room 405-2, Innovation Park 8#

Office Phone

0755-88015673

Email

mayf@sustech.edu.cn

Copyright © 2018 All Rights Reserved.

助理教授/副研究员 统计与数据科学系

马一方,现任南方科技大学统计与数据科学系助理教授,博士生导师。2016年获得北京大学数学系博士学位,2014年至2016年、2016年至2019年分别在美国东北大学复杂网络研究中心和美国西北大学Kellogg商学院访学和从事博士后研究。研究方向为网络科学、数据科学、计算社会科学,已在 Nature,PNAS,Nature Physics, JAMA, Physics Reports 等期刊发表论文。

个人简介

工作经历:

2019/11 - 今            南方科技大学统计与数据科学系       助理教授

2016/07 – 2019/09    美国西北大学Kellogg商学院      博士后

 

教育经历:

2011/09 – 2016/07    北京大学数学科学学院  理学博士

2014/10 – 2016/04    美国东北大学复杂网络研究中心       访问学生

2007/09 – 2011/07    北京航空航天大学数学与系统科学学院  理学学士

研究领域

数据科学

网络科学

计算社会科学


学术成果 查看更多

  1. Yifang Ma, Satyam Mukherjee, Brian Uzzi, Mentorship and protégé success in STEM fields.  PNAS, 117 (25) 14077-14083 (2020)
  2. Feixiong Cheng#, Yifang Ma#, Brian Uzzi, Joseph Loscalzo, Importance of scientific collaboration in contemporary drug discovery and development: a detailed network analysis. BMC Biology, 18 (1), 1-9 (2020).
  3. Chuang Liu, Yifang Ma, Jing Zhao, Ruth Nussinov, Yi-Cheng Zhang, Feixiong Cheng, and Zi-Ke Zhang. Computational network biology: Data, model, and applications. Physics Reports 846,1-66 (2020).
  4. Yifang Ma, Diego F.M. Oliveira, Teresa K. Woodruff and Brian Uzzi, Women who win prizes get less money and prestige. Nature, 565, 287-288 (2019)
  5. Diego F.M. Oliveira, Yifang Ma, Teresa K. Woodruff and Brian Uzzi, Comparison of National Institutes of Health Grant Amounts to First-Time Male and Female Principal Investigators. The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA), 321(9):898-900 (2019).
  6. Michael Szell, Yifang Ma, Roberta Sinatra, A Nobel opportunity for interdisciplinarity. Nature Physics 14.11 (2018): 1075-1078
  7. Yifang Ma and Brian Uzzi, Scientific prize network predicts who pushes the boundaries of science.  PNAS, 115.50 (2018): 12608-12615.

新闻动态 更多新闻

  • 统计与数据科学系本科生导师见面会成功举行

    2019-09-13
  • 我校统计与数据科学系正式成立

    2019-08-21

团队成员 查看更多

加入团队

统计与数据科学系成立于 2019年4月,目前共有科研教学系列教师 8人,其中有讲席教授1人,教授2人,副教授2人,Tenure-track助理教授2人,访问助理教授1人。本系有统计学和数据科学(筹)2个学科方向,包含生物统计、金融统计、实验设计、高维数据、随机矩阵、时间序列、概率论、数据科学等主要研究领域。本系的教师100%有境外学习或工作经历,包括1名国际数学家大会邀请报告人,1位国家自然科学奖二等奖获得者,1名国际数理统计学会会士,理事会常务理事,Medallion讲座演讲者。

本系志在为国家培养出思想活跃,创新意识和能力强,科研品味高,脚踏实地,有朝气,有理想的拔尖人才。系里已有统计学本科专业和统计学硕、博学位授予权,并在积极筹建数据科学与大数据本科专业。2019年南科大成功培养出了第一届38名统计学本科毕业生。系里的教师们在多种联培和南科大数学学科硕博点框架下已培养统计学硕士毕业生5名,现有在读统计学硕士生17名、博士生9名、博士后1名。随着本系的发展和师资力量的增强,研究生招生数目将逐年上升,招生方向也将包括数据科学与大数据技术。

本系目前正处于一个高速发展时期,师资力量在未来的几年内将大幅度增长。大数据时代的到来为统计和数据科学的发展带来了良好的机会。我们诚请国内外优秀的统计和数据科学学者加入我系的教师行列,为把我系建设成为一流的统计与数据科学系而共同奋斗。同时,我们热诚欢迎优秀的本科生、研究生、博士后到我系学习、研究。

查看更多

联系我们

联系地址

创园8栋405-2

办公电话

0755-88015673

电子邮箱

mayf@sustech.edu.cn

Copyright © 2018 All Rights Reserved.