Professor, Deputy Head of Department Department of Earth and Space Sciences

Professor Zhang jointed SUSTech in 2017. He received his B.S. (1999) and Ph.D. (2006) in geophysics from the Peking University. He was a postdoc in Graduate School of Oceanography (GSO) at University of Rhode Island (URI) from 2007 to 2010, then worked as a senior scientist in GeoTomo LLC from 2010 to 2013, and as a professor in School of Earth and Space Sciences at University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) from 2013 to 2017.He is a member of SEG, EAGE, AGU, and the SEG China Advisory Committee. Professor Zhang’s research interests include seismic wave forward modeling and inversion algorithm, strong ground motion, earth interior structure, and microseismic monitoring, etc. He has authored or co-authored more than 30 technical papers in the academic journals, such as Geophysics and Geophysical Journal International, and more than 20 conference papers in SEG/EAGE conferences.

Personal Profile

Professor Zhang jointed SUSTech in 2017. He received his B.S. (1999) and Ph.D. (2006) in geophysics from the Peking University. He was a postdoc in Graduate School of Oceanography (GSO) at University of Rhode Island (URI) from 2007 to 2010, then worked as a senior scientist in GeoTomo LLC from 2010 to 2013, and as a professor in School of Earth and Space Sciences at University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) from 2013 to 2017. He is a member of SEG, EAGE, AGU, and the SEG China Advisory Committee. Professor Zhang’s research interests include seismic wave forward modeling and inversion algorithm, strong ground motion, earth interior structure, and microseismic monitoring, etc. He has authored or co-authored more than 30 technical papers in the academic journals, such as Geophysics and Geophysical Journal International, and more than 20 conference papers in SEG/EAGE conferences.

Education Background
1999 - 2006, Peking University , Ph.D. in Geophysics
1995 - 1999, Peking University , B.S. in Geophysics

 
Work Experience   
2017.04 -    Professor, Department of Earth and Space Sciences, Southern University of Science and Technology
2013.03 – 2017.03   Professor, School of Earth and Space Sciences, University of Science and Technology of China
2010.10 – 2013.02    Senior Scientist, GeoTomo USA
2007.03 – 2010.09    Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Graduate School of Oceanography, University of Rhode Island
2006.07 – 2007.02    Research Assistant, School of Earth and Space Sciences, Peking University
 
Academic Service Experience
2017-present, Member of Commission for Oil&Gas Geophysics of Chinese Geophysical Society
2016-present, Member of Commission for Earthquake Seismology of Seismological Society of China
2016-present, Member of SEG China Advisory Committee
2016-present, Secretary of the 7th Discipline Assessment Groups (Geophysics Subject) of the Academic Degree Commission of the State Council

Research

High performance numerical seismic wave simulation methods for complex structure and topography

Wave-equation-based seismic imaging and inversion methods (wave-equation finite-frequency

tomography, full-waveform inversion)

High resolution seismic imaging of regional Earth structure using seismic array records

High resolution earthquake location methods

Microseismic monitoring of hydraulic fracturing


Teaching

Applied Geophysics I (Seismic Exploration)

This course introduces the fundamental theory of seismic exploration, data processing and interpretation methods, to help students have a sound foundation for work in oil industry or developing new methods. is now taught to senior undergraduates.

Fundamentals of Geophysics I (Seismology)

This course mainly introduces the theory of seismic wave propagation in the Earth media, and the basic methods of studying the internal structure of the Earth using seismic waves. It also introduces seismic surface wave and Earth oscillation, earthquake and source theory, earthquake prediction, instruments, etc. is now taught to senior undergraduates.

Geophysical Experiments

This course involves short lectures and laboratory work, to let students master operations of different geophysical instruments and basic data processing and analysis approaches of different geophysical methods.

Projects of Science and Technology Innovation

Science and technology innovation projects provide excellent opportunities for students to participate in scientific research activities, subject competitions, science and technology innovation projects, social practices, summer exchange activities, etc., for the purpose to improve students innovation ability. is now taught to senior undergraduates.

Modern Applied Geophysics


Publications Read More

Professor Zhang’s research interests include seismic wave forward modeling and inversion algorithm, strong ground motion, earth interior structure, and microseismic monitoring, etc. He has authored or co-authored more than 40 technical papers in the academic journals, such as Geophysics and Geophysical Journal International, and more than 20 conference papers in SEG/EAGE conferences.

News More

  • ESS signs agreement with Information Support Center Of Shenzhen Emergency Command

    2019-11-01
  • ESS Associate Professor wins J. Clarence Karcher Award

    2019-11-01
  • ESS Assistant Professors won major geophysical Youth Science and Technology Awards

    2019-11-01

Lab members Read More

Join us

The Department of Earth and Space Sciences (ESS) at Southern University of Science and Technology was established in December 2016. Prof. Xiaofei Chen, a renowned seismologist and an academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), is appointed as an initiatory departmental head. 

The studies in ESS concern the physics of the Earth, geo-space and planets in outer space. Through building up a world-leading program of research and education in Earth and Space Sciences, we strive to conduct the research that would advance our understanding on the complex natural system of Earth and Space, in order to provide science-based solutions to many of the societal challenges of our time: natural hazards, natural energy resources, space exploration, etc. In the meantime, our department offers rigorous hands-on training to students and prepares them to be future leaders in academia, government and industry. 

ESS encompasses a wide range of scientific disciplines: Geophysics, Space Physics, Satellite Geodesy and Planetary Science. By the end of October 2019, ESS has thirty-one faculty members, including six professors, four associate professors, eleven assistant professors, and ten research assistant professors, including one Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences, three Distinguished Young Scholars of National Nature Science Fund, one Excellent Young Scientists of National Science Fund. elcome more talents to join us and work together to build a world-class research and education center for Earth and Space Sciences. 

Read More

Contact Us

Contact Address

Southern University of Science and Technology Shenzhen, Guangdong, China Room 303, Building 9, Innovation Park

Office Phone

0755-88018787

Email

zhangwei@sustech.edu.cn

Copyright © 2018 All Rights Reserved.

教授、系副主任 地球与空间科学系

教授。1999年毕业于北京大学地球物理学专业,获学士学位;2006年在北京大学地球与空间科学学院获博士学位。曾任职于美国罗德岛大学海洋研究生院(博士后)、美国休斯顿GeoTomo公司(资深科学家)和中国科学技术大学地球和空间科学学院(教授)。长期从事地震波正演和反演算法研究,为强地面运动预测、地球结构探测和地震勘探发展新方法和新技术。在Geophysics、Geophysical Journal International等学术期刊发表论文30余篇、SEG/EAGE会议论文20余篇。

个人简介

    教授。1999年毕业于北京大学地球物理学专业,获学士学位;2006年在北京大学地球与空间科学学院获博士学位。曾任职于美国罗德岛大学海洋研究生院(博士后)、美国休斯顿GeoTomo公司(资深科学家)和中国科学技术大学地球和空间科学学院(教授)。长期从事地震波正演和反演算法研究,为强地面运动预测、地球结构探测和地震勘探发展新方法和新技术。在Geophysics、Geophysical Journal International等学术期刊发表论文30余篇、SEG/EAGE会议论文20余篇。
 
教育背景
1999-2006,地球物理学博士,北京大学,地球与空间科学学院
1995-1999,地球物理学学士,北京大学,地球物理系
 
工作经历
2017.04-                教授,南方科技大学,地球与空间科学系 副主任
2013.03-2017.03    教授,中国科学技术大学,地球和空间科学学院
2010.10-2013.02    资深科学家(Senior Scientist),美国休斯顿 GeoTomo 公司
2007.03-2010.09    博士后,美国罗德岛大学,海洋研究生院
2006.07-2007.02    研究助理,北京大学,地球与空间科学学院
 
学术兼职
2016至今,国务院学位委员会第七届地球物理学学科评议组秘书
2016至今,中国地震学会地震专业委员会委员
2016至今,国际勘探地球物理学家学会(SEG)中国指导委员会委员

研究领域

· 复杂介质地震波高效数值模拟方法

· 地震成像和反演方法

· 地震定位方法和微地震监测技术

· 强地面运动模拟和地震危害性分析

· 被动源波形成像方法及其在地球高精度结构研究中的应用


教学

应用地球物理学I(地震勘探原理)

本课程主要介绍地震勘探的基本原理和资料处理、解释的基本方法,为学生将来开展地震勘探工作和新方法研究奠定理论基础。现面向高年级本科生讲授。

地球物理学基础I(地震学原理)

本课程主要介绍地震波传播基本理论和利用地震波研究地球内部构造的基本方法,并对地震面波和地球自由振荡、地震的产生原因和震源机制、地震预测、地震仪器等相关技术进行介绍。现面向高年级本科生讲授。

地球物理实验

通过课堂讲授和物理实验,了解常用地球物理仪器的原理、操作和测量数据的基本分析和处理,使学生深入理解前修理论课程中的各种地球物理方法原理和实际应用,为应用地球物理方法解决实际问题奠定基础。现面向高年级本科生讲授。

现代应用地球物理学(硕士课程)


学术成果 查看更多

长期从事地震波正演和反演算法研究,为强地面运动预测、地球结构探测和地震勘探发展新方法和新技术。在Geophysics、Geophysical Journal International等学术期刊发表论文40余篇、SEG/EAGE会议论文20余篇。

新闻动态 更多新闻

  • 我系与深圳市应急指挥信息保障中心签署合作框架协议

         2019年9月3日,南方科技大学地球与空间科学系(以下简称“南科大地空系”)与深圳市应急指挥信息保障 […]

    2019-11-01
  • 热烈祝贺南科大地空系副教授方鑫定荣获国际勘探地球物理学家学会J. Clarence Karcher奖

        2019年9月17日,2019年国际勘探地球物理学家学会(SEG)国际年会暨颁奖仪式在美国圣安东尼奥举 […]

    2019-11-01
  • 热烈祝贺南科大地空系助理教授韩鹏、任恒鑫获“傅承义青年科技奖”“刘光鼎地球物理青年科学技术奖”

           2019年10月26日至30日,中国地球科学联合学术年会在北京召开。在本次年会上,南方科技大学地 […]

    2019-11-01

团队成员 查看更多

加入团队

      南方科技大学地球与空间科学系成立于2016年12月,由中国科学院院士陈晓非教授担任首届系主任。
      本系建系宗旨是:建设国际化的、一流的地球与空间科学人才培养与科研基地,以促进人类对地球及其所处空间这一复杂自然系统运动规律的探索和认知,为应对当前人类社会发展中所面临的来自于自然环境、资源与灾害方面的严峻挑战以及开展行星际空间探索提供科学基础,并培养具有足够能力解决未来地球与空间科学领域科学问题的学术领军人才与管理人才。
       南方科技大学地球与空间科学系拟在以下几个学科方向上开展学术研究与人才培养:地球物理学、空间物理学、空间大地测量学和行星科学。目前,本系已有教学科研人员31人,包括教授6人,副教授4人,助理教授11人和研究系列教授10人;其中包括中国科学院院士1人,国家杰青3人,国家优青1人。我们期待更多的优秀人才加盟,共建世界一流地球与空间科学人才培养和科学研究基地。

查看更多

联系我们

联系地址

广东省深圳市南山区学苑大道1088号 创园9栋 303室

办公电话

0755-88018787

电子邮箱

zhangwei@sustech.edu.cn

Copyright © 2018 All Rights Reserved.