Assistant Professor Department of Earth and Space Sciences

Dr. Shiqing Xu received B.S. in Geophysics, and in Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, from Peking University in 2007. Then, he moved to the US and obtained Ph.D. in Geological Sciences, from the University of Southern California in 2013. After that, Dr. Xu joined the National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Resilience in Japan, as a Research Fellow. Starting from September 2019, Dr. Xu became an Assistant Professor at Southern University of Science and Technology in Shenzhen, China. Dr. Xu is interested in a wide range of earthquake problems, including earthquake dynamics and faulting, evolution of fault zones, rock friction experiments, and earthquake physics. As a first author or co-author, Dr. Xu so far has published 18 articles in peer-reviewed journals, including Earth and Planetary Science Letters, Journal of Geophysical Research, Tectonophysics, and Nature. Dr. Xu has served as the primary session conveners twice for the AGU fall meeting. As the chief guest editor, Dr. Xu has organized a special issue “Physics of Earthquake Rupture Propagation” in Tectonophysics. As referee, Dr. Xu has helped to review journal articles and NSF proposals (US) for multiple times.

Personal Profile

Dr. Shiqing Xu received B.S. in Geophysics, and in Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, from Peking University in 2007. Then, he moved to the US and obtained Ph.D. in Geological Sciences, from the University of Southern California in 2013. After that, Dr. Xu joined the National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Resilience in Japan, as a Research Fellow. Starting from September 2019, Dr. Xu became an Assistant Professor at Southern University of Science and Technology in Shenzhen, China. Dr. Xu is interested in a wide range of earthquake problems, including earthquake dynamics and faulting, evolution of fault zones, rock friction experiments, and earthquake physics. As a first author or co-author, Dr. Xu so far has published 18 articles in peer-reviewed journals, including Earth and Planetary Science Letters, Journal of Geophysical Research, Tectonophysics, and Nature. Dr. Xu has served as the primary session conveners twice for the AGU fall meeting. As the chief guest editor, Dr. Xu has organized a special issue “Physics of Earthquake Rupture Propagation” in Tectonophysics. As referee, Dr. Xu has helped to review journal articles and NSF proposals (US) for multiple times.

 

Education

2007 – 2013: Ph.D., University of Southern California (USA), Department of Earth Sciences, Advisor: Yehuda Ben-Zion

2003 – 2007: B.S., Peking University, School of Earth and Space Sciences

 

Working Experience

2019 – present: Assistant Professor, Southern University of Science and Technology, Department of Earth and Space Sciences

2013 – 2019: Research Fellow, National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Resilience (Japan), Earthquake and Tsunami Disaster Prevention Research Department, Advisor: Eiichi Fukuyama

 

Teaching Experience

2007 – 2013: Teaching Assistant, University of Southern California (USA), Department of Earth Sciences

 

Fellowships and Honors

2019: AGU’s Outstanding Reviewers (FY 2018)

2019: National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Resilience Achievement Award (FY 2018)

2018: Young Scientist Award of the Seismological Society of Japan (FY 2017)

2006: Chinese Academy of Science Scholarship in Geophysics, 2nd Prize

2004: Award for Study Excellence, Peking University

2003: National Scholarship

 

Professional Society Services

Reviewer for

AGU Geophysical Monograph Series, JGR, GRL, Nature Geoscience, EPSL, Tectonophysics, BSSA, GJI, PAGEOPH, etc.

Research

Earthquake Rupture: Theoretical Model and Numerical Simulation

Damage Mechanics and Fracture Mechanics

Rock Friction Experiments

Evolution of Fault Zones

Regular and Slow Earthquakes

Subduction Zone Earthquakes

Earthquake Physics


Teaching

PHY203-15 Mathematical Methods in Physics (Undergraduate, Spring)

ESS5031 Earthquake Dynamics (in preparation) (Graduate, Spring)

ESS5040 Reading of Classical Geophysical Literatures (Graduate, Spring)

ESS209 Principles of Solid Earth Geophysics (Undergraduate, Fall)


Publications Read More

As a first author or co-author, Dr. Xu so far has published 18 articles in peer-reviewed journals, including Earth and Planetary Science Letters, Journal of Geophysical Research, Tectonophysics, and Nature. Dr. Xu has served as the primary session conveners twice for the AGU fall meeting. As the chief guest editor, Dr. Xu has organized a special issue “Physics of Earthquake Rupture Propagation” in Tectonophysics. As referee, Dr. Xu has helped to review journal articles and NSF proposals (US) for multiple times.

News More

  • Dr. Xu recognized as AGU's outstanding reviewer of 2019

    2020-06-19
  • Dr. Xu recognized as AGU's outstanding reviewer of 2018

    2019-05-30
  • Dr. Xu gave an invited talk at SSJ Fall Meeting 2018

    2018-10-09

Lab members Read More

Join us

I am always looking for talented candidates for graduate student, postdoc, or research assistant. The basic requirements are: (1) interested in conducting scientific research, (2) already obtained or will obtain relevant degrees, such as Bachelor of Science or Master, (3) with some experience in mathematical physics and computer programing, (4) with some background in earthquake physics, rock friction experiments, and earthquake dynamics. For those who are interested in joining my team, please send your CV and one-page research statement to my email address: xusq3@sustech.edu.cn

Read More

Contact Us

Contact Address

Room 310 Building 9, Chuangyuan, 1088 Xueyuan Avenue  Nanshan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong

Office Phone

0755-88018653

Email

xusq3@sustech.edu.cn

Copyright © 2018 All Rights Reserved.

助理教授 地球与空间科学系

2007年本科毕业于北京大学,获地球物理学学士学位以及数学与应用数学双学位。2013年于美国南加州大学(USC)获地质学博士学位。2013年至2019年以Research Fellow身份在日本防灾科学技术研究所(NIED)从事研究工作。2019年9月正式加入南方科技大学地球与空间科学系,任助理教授。本人的研究方向为地震破裂传播的理论模型和数值模拟,断层结构演化,岩石摩擦实验,以及地震物理学。以第一作者或者共同作者在国际知名期刊诸如Earth and Planetary Science Letters, Journal of Geophysical Research, Tectonophysics, Nature等上共发表论文18篇。2次在AGU会议上担任主题会议召集人。作为主要客座编辑组织并编撰了Tectonophysics特刊Physics of Earthquake Rupture Propagation。多次为国际知名期刊和美国自然科学基金委担任同行评审。

个人简介

2007年本科毕业于北京大学,获地球物理学学士学位以及数学与应用数学双学位。2013年于美国南加州大学(USC)获地质学博士学位。2013年至2019年以Research Fellow身份在日本防灾科学技术研究所(NIED)从事研究工作。2019年9月正式加入南方科技大学地球与空间科学系,任助理教授。本人的研究方向为地震破裂传播的理论模型和数值模拟,断层结构演化,岩石摩擦实验,以及地震物理学。以第一作者或者共同作者在国际知名期刊诸如Earth and Planetary Science Letters, Journal of Geophysical Research, Tectonophysics, Nature等上共发表论文18篇。2次在AGU会议上担任主题会议召集人。作为主要客座编辑组织并编撰了Tectonophysics特刊Physics of Earthquake Rupture Propagation。多次为国际知名期刊和美国自然科学基金委担任同行评审。

 

教育经历

2007 - 2013: 博士,美国南加州大学,地球科学系,导师:Yehuda Ben-Zion

2003 - 2007: 学士,北京大学,地球与空间科学学院

 

工作经历

2019 - 至今:助理教授,南方科技大学,地球与空间科学系

2013 - 2019:Research Fellow,日本防灾科学技术研究所,地震海啸防灾研究部门,导师:Eiichi Fukuyama

 

教学经历

2007 - 2013: 助教,美国南加州大学,地球科学系

 

获奖经历

2019:AGU优秀审稿人(2018年度)

2019: 日本防灾科学技术研究所成就奖(2018年度)

2018: 日本地震学会青年科学家奖 (2017年度)

2006:  中国科学院地球物理专业奖学金,二等奖

2004: 北京大学学习优秀奖

2003: 国家奖学金

 

学术服务

期刊审稿人

AGU Geophysical Monograph Series, JGR, GRL, Nature Geoscience, EPSL, Tectonophysics, BSSA, GJI, PAGEOPH等

研究领域

地震破裂传播的理论模型和数值模拟

损伤力学和断裂力学

岩石摩擦实验

断层演化

常规地震和慢地震

俯冲带地震

地震物理学


教学

PHY203-15 数学物理方法 (本科生,春)

ESS5031 震源动力学(筹)(研究生,春)

ESS5040 地球物理经典文献阅读(研究生,春)

ESS209 固体地球物理学原理(本科生,秋)


学术成果 查看更多

徐世庆助理教授以第一作者或者共同作者在国际知名期刊诸如Earth and Planetary Science Letters, Journal of Geophysical Research, Tectonophysics, Nature等上共发表论文18篇。2次在AGU会议上担任主题会议召集人。作为主要客座编辑组织并编撰了Tectonophysics特刊Physics of Earthquake Rupture Propagation。多次为国际知名期刊和美国自然科学基金委担任同行评审。

新闻动态 更多新闻

  • 徐世庆博士获评AGU2018年度优秀审稿人

    2019-05-30
  • 徐世庆博士在2018年日本地震学会秋季大会上做受邀报告

    2018-10-09
  • 徐世庆博士获日本地震学会2017年青年科学家奖

    2018-05-23

团队成员 查看更多

加入团队

本课题组长期招收研究生,博士后,或者科研助理。基本要求为:(1)对科学研究抱有兴趣,(2)已经或者即将取得相应学位,诸如本科,硕士等,(3)具有一定的数理基础和计算机编程能力,(4)具备相应的知识背景,诸如地震物理学,地球物理岩石实验,震源动力学等。感兴趣的学生学者可以发送个人简历和1页研究兴趣陈述至本人电子邮箱: xusq3@sustech.edu.cn

查看更多

联系我们

联系地址

广东省深圳市南山区学苑大道1088号 创园9栋 310室

办公电话

0755-88018653

电子邮箱

xusq3@sustech.edu.cn

Copyright © 2018 All Rights Reserved.